That’s all folks!

game over

So, as you will all have heard, the BYM338 trial for sIBM has been suspended.  This bombshell first appeared on Facebook and the American Myositis Forum (TMA) on Tuesday evening.  I had a phone call from one of the trial doctors at Queen Square on Wednesday morning to confirm that with immediate effect there will be no more infusions, although we are expected to keep our next appointment which will become an ‘end of trial’ visit with fasting blood tests and the full gamut of strength and walking tests.  He asked me not to make any public announcements until he’d had chance to speak to each of his trial participants personally, which I though was fair enough, but by the afternoon it was fairly common knowledge throughout the myositis community via postings on Facebook and the discussion forums. 

We knew a couple of months ago that the primary goal of increasing our 6 minute walking distance hadn’t been met, and I’ve said a lot about that already so I won’t go over it again.  There was still the hope that the secondary goals would prove to be successful, improvement in the pinch, grip and quadriceps strength tests, but I’m told they showed no improvement either in any of the treatment groups.  Interestingly, the questionnaires we fill in about our ability to do our daily living activities DID show improvements in the groups that were having some dose of the drug, but no improvements in the placebo group.  So those people on the drug felt that they were doing better, but these improvements were not measurable by any of the tests that have been devised, and are therefore considered irrelevant.

So, since there was nothing that Novartis could show to the FDA in support of an application to license this drug for use in sIBM, they will not be taking this any further.  To be fair, they must be pretty upset about this turn of events, because they have sunk literally £millions in it – the science behind it looked as if it would work, but as I have said before, there is a fundamental flaw in the calculations.  We have a disease that destroys our muscles.  You can probably build new muscle cells with this drug but unless you stop the disease from doing its thing, it will just destroy the new muscle cells too.  Perhaps if they’d blasted us with high doses, they could have out-paced the disease process, but they chose not to do that.  There was a slight suggestion that Novartis may devise a new trial using bigger doses, but we all know how long it takes these things to get off the ground so for now – game over.

So how do we feel about the trial being stopped?  Well, it’s understandable that Novartis can’t keep throwing money at a lost cause.  I’m just angry at the way it’s been done.  It really illustrates how little the drug companies think of us guinea pigs that they gave us no notice, no chance to talk about how we thought we were getting on, no consideration that we might not be getting significantly stronger but some of us weren’t deteriorating as fast as might be expected, no NOTHING – just the bleak notification that we’re not getting any more infusions.  After all the days we’ve given you, all the ridiculously early morning journeys, all the needles stuck in us and all the effort we put into the various tests, thanks a lot Novartis.  Yeah, I know – we all volunteered for it, nobody made us do it.  I’m incredibly angry that 25% of the trial participants only ever got the placebo, yet carried on jumping through every hoop that Novartis presented us with because we all thought the drug was working for some of us and we’d all get the best dose in the end.  I feel we’ve all been cheated.

That’s the bigger picture.  Personally I’m scared.  Regardless of what their results say, I know the drug has been good for me.  I know that before the trial, I struggled to type and was down to using just one finger as the others weren’t strong enough.  I know that when I sat on my stairlift I didn’t bother putting the footplate down because I couldn’t lift my feet onto it, and now I can.  I couldn’t pull plugs out of wall sockets, or ring pulls off drink cans, and I hadn’t been able to open bottles of medicine with child-proof (Steph-proof) caps for about 10 years.  All easy now.  I can breathe when I’m lying down flat, and I don’t have to constantly clear my throat.  My head doesn’t flop back when I look up, and I can shrug my shoulders again – not sure what benefit that is, but there it is anyway.  And the drug doesn’t work?  Yeah right.  Without the drug, I know all the gains I have made will gradually slip away, and the relentless downward slide will begin again.  Not a nice prospect.  I know some will say, quite rightly, that there are new drug trials in the pipeline and more treatments in development.  I know that’s true, but I’m not ready to jump on any new bandwagons just yet.

The only advantages I can see to not having the infusions any more are (a) that I won’t have to get out of bed at 5 am any more to start the horrendous journey into Central London, and (b) the diarrhoea might clear up. 

So Monday is my next scheduled appointment.  They would like me to arrive fasting, ready for blood tests, strength tests, walking tests, ECG, physical exam etc.  They say it will be a long day.  They have no idea how much the day takes out of people with IBM, but we’ve done it on numerous occasions because it was required of us in order to get the drug.  Now we’re not going to get any more drug because they’ve decided it doesn’t work.  So why do they need this extra set of data from us?  What difference will it make?  None to me.  Am I going?  Am I boll*cks.

Author: stephhicks

The ups and downs of life with a rare muscle wasting disease, Inclusion Body Myositis, after the BYM338 (Bimagrumab) drug trial

16 thoughts on “That’s all folks!”

  1. Ha ha love it Steph nice one😀With regards to the high dose I asked exactly the same question and was told that they had given monkeys 100mg but they showed wear in the heart tissues. That probably explains why we had such intense echo cardiograms
    David T

    Like

    1. Thanks David. Perhaps there’s a dose somewhere between the 10mg highest dose we had, and the 100mg they gave the poor monkeys, that does the job and doesn’t affect hearts. I have a feeling they will continue to work on this concept and maybe reappear later on with a more successful proposal, Meanwhile, we will keep up with our exercises and eat lots of protein to try to maintain what we’ve gained, at least for a while. Keep the faith.

      Like

  2. Steph, so sorry to hear this. I said some similar things in a post this morning in reply to Ashley’s post. You have made even more points. I am devastated for you and for all of us, who had hoped to benefit from all your early rises and efforts to get to London. Thank you and thank you for posting all your updates, which took considerable time as well. I didn’t realize how Novartis thanked you for all your efforts. Doesn’t leave a good taste. People will be more reluctant to participate after this fiasco.

    Like

    1. Thanks Bonnie, I’ve loved writing about the trial. It’s quite therapeutic to think it through in a logical order and put it down on (virtual) paper. I think it’s important for people considering clinical trials to know what it’s like, and Cindy’s comment below is really helpful in that respect. I still think I was lucky to be selected for this trial, and I think it’s only the first step in a line of research that will eventually lead to a cure for us all.

      Like

  3. I understand your anger and frustration Steph and reluctance to go through one more gruelling journey. I would like to thank you for doing what you have so far, on behalf of us all, in the hope of getting the miracle drug. You are a brave warrior!

    Like

    1. Thanks Val, I’m still hoping for the miracle drug, but sadly this wasn’t it. I’m glad I was part of it, and I’m looking forward to following someone else’s similar blog about the upcoming Arimoclomol trial 🙂

      Like

  4. Steph, I couldn’t have said it any better myself. As a (I believe) placebo person I am particularly frustrated as any hope for what the drug might do for me has been dashed. Will I make the last 3 sessions? (July, October & January). Yes, but only as a courtesy to the staff at OHSU who have been so good to work with. Thanks for all your postings. You will be missed.
    Gary

    Like

    1. Hi Steph,
      I understand your frustration completely … of course I do! I think of the hundreds of patients who’ve spent thousands of hours over these last few years, and then … crickets.
      But … or rather, AND, as I’m a person who’s always been wired to see the other side of things, here’s the deal as I see it. And (for any readers who don’t know me) I’m one of the only two patients who actually met with the (original) researchers from Novartis, helping them to put “a face to the disease” and to establish “meaningful outcome measures” for the drug.
      So … some of these researchers will spend their entire careers trying to develop (MAB) therapeutic drugs, and never achieve any level of success. They study lab results from numerous scientific tests, made at the cellular levels, so all human, whole body, real person aspects are removed. It’s not their job to assess or incorporate any voluntary data that’s outside of their lab work.
      Representatives from Novartis are literally at arm’s length, as we are subjects (as are primates, mice etc.), not patients. And they are receiving this data from random, double-blinded controlled studies.
      It’s actually your clinical physician’s job to provide you with the human contact, acting as a liaison and interpreter, between you and the science/research and the pharmaceutical company.
      The researchers literally could not do their jobs if they were personally connected to you. Even though you may feel strongly you personally benefited. Bottom line, the FDA will not accept subjective data.
      Although the researchers would probably find your input and observations interesting, honestly, it might prove confusing, or it could cloud their judgement when evaluating their lab data.
      I say ALL this even after I had a lengthy letter all written and tee’d up send to the CEO of Novartis a few years back. I was sick and tired of the stalling. I wanted answers. I had guessed [correctly] that they’d decided to forego the open label study, denying the drug to those of us who’d taken the most risk by testing the drug at the highest dose back in 2011.
      But the bottom line? Good, bad, or indifferent, most pharmaceuticals are for-profit companies, and they get to call the shots. As it turned out, Dr. Amato was able to persuade Novartis to honor their original agreement to provide an open label study after the initial data looked promising, and the go ahead was given to take the trial global.
      So it worked out in the end, albeit with much frustration for so many of us as we were in the dark … until we weren’t.
      I realized they are human, perhaps disorganized, and that particular company is directing over 150 drugs in their pipeline at any given time. And as harsh as it is: it’s just business.
      Sorry for the very long winded note, I just thought you might appreciate a little more insight into the process. Understanding that helped me realize the process is what it is, and isn’t personal to my situation (or yours).
      Keep the faith; we can and will persevere … and then we’ll be ready for that day when a truly effective therapeutic treatment comes along! Can’t wait!!
      Best to you & your support team,
      Cindy

      Like

      1. Thanks for that Cindy, of course it puts it all in perspective. We know deep down that the potential for profit drives these decisions……. and yet, there was still the hope that compassion for people suffering from a condition that has no other treatment available might have led them to a different course of action. Obviously though the FDA wouldn’t have approved it without any supporting statistics, so it was a complete no-win situation for us. Hey ho, we carry on. We’re no worse off than we were before, except for this sour taste in my mouth.

        Like

    2. Hi Gary, I think you are right to complete the final trial visits – not least because if they run any further studies you may well want to be considered for, and they may not invite people who have dropped out of previous studies before the end. I’ve loved writing these posts and connecting with people I might never have otherwise heard from. I may think of something else to write about in the near future. You have been warned 🙂

      Like

  5. Steph, I wasn’t aware of all of the improvements you had been experiencing which makes the current decision even more nonsensical, anyway it’s done and we will see other developments. Thank you – thank you so much for everything, your approach to the BYM trials amazing and I’m really going to miss your posts. Best wishes Wighton

    Like

    1. Hi Wighton, it does seem madness to let this go to waste, but my very modest gains probably didn’t justify the huge cost of producing the drug. Anyway, it’s been a pleasure. Take care 🙂

      Like

  6. I have been following your posts (and Mr Morgan’s) but have not commented before. I just want to say a massive thankyou for all your participation in the trials. I know I personally could not face the 100 mile journey to London every month, not to mention the rigours of the trial itself. I cannot imagine how you feel now. Other people have mentioned that it all comes down to profit. Please remember that the market for a general muscle wasting condition treatment is massive. They could never have been that interested in IBM specifically. We are just a route to that market. So while there is such a tempting prize, the work will go on. Thankyou again.

    Like

    1. Hi Roy, thank you for commenting. You are right of course, the potential market for a treatment for muscle wasting is massive, and with huge profits as an incentive, I’m sure someone will come up with a workable solution pretty soon. Watch now for information on Arimoclomol. The trials are likely to last 20 months, starting in London perhaps early next year. The game continues……

      Like

  7. Good Evening Steph…We too have been riding the emotional roller coaster since the announcement earlier this week of THE END..THAT’S ALL FOLKS! We have closed the book on the BYM338 Trial and after logging over 700,000 air miles from Milwaukee, Wisconsin to Houston, Texas are thankful we were apart the GUINEA PIG NATION…we are now directing our efforts towards the PHASE 2 Trial of ARIMOCLOMOL…which is scheduled to begin in October..from what we have read on line London will also participate in this trial..do you know any participants from Phase 1 of this trial..as of yet we have not been able to contact anyone from the USA who participated in Phase 1. We will continue to google for results.
    We, as you, will continue to fight and find a cure for IBM..our goal also is to try to keep what we feel we gained through the BYM338 infusions.
    All our Best..Hugs
    Sudz
    Jim Szudzik

    Like

  8. Hi Steph,

    The final confirmation the trial is over is awful news, I really feel for you and others on the programme. I have ibm myself, however I wasn’t on the trail but like all of us the hope is / was in drugs like BYM338. It is a real downer at present and your anger is understandable after all the personal effort.

    As I have said before your possitivity is fantastic, so has been this blogg.

    All the best.

    Tim

    Like

Leave a comment