Me again :)

Yeah sorry, I know you were enjoying the peace.  I wrote an awful lot about being on a drug trial.  I thought perhaps I would write a little bit about NOT being on one.

So, to refresh your memory, I have a progressive muscle wasting disease called Inclusion Body Myositis.  The ‘progressive’ bit means that it will get worse.  It is not ‘all in my mind’.  It does not respond to ‘thinking positive’, ‘doing a bit more exercise’ or ‘getting out more’.  And now you know what it isn’t, you may decide to stop reading at this point.  For the less faint-hearted, here is a first-hand account of what it is.

It is a soul-destroying, unrelenting, miserable condition that takes your entire life away and replaces it with a daily grind that never, ever gets any easier.  From the first moment you wake up in the morning and find that you can’t actually move, to the last few seconds before you fall asleep at night exhausted from the effort of getting comfortable, you are pushed to the limits of your strength and endurance by the ‘simple’ (Ha!) daily routine of getting up, getting dressed, eating, toileting, picking up things you’ve dropped, maintaining a sunny smile at all times so as not to upset people, if you see any……… The only ‘safe’ activity i.e. no risk of falling, is sitting in a chair.  It’s a relief when it’s bed time, but that involves a precarious walk to the stair lift which then needs piling up with cushions and towels to make it high enough to get off at the top, and then of course is the devil’s own job to get your bottom onto because it’s too high.  The effort involved in getting off the stairlift, wobbling to the bathroom and back to the bedroom, followed by undressing and the almost insurmountable task of actually getting into bed is exhausting in itself, and coming at a time when you’re already tired, is a huge mental battle.  Finally you’re settled in bed and the more you think about not being able to turn over, the more you absolutely MUST turn over; the more you think about not being able to get out of bed in case you can’t get in again, the more you really, really want to get out– most nights I have a panic attack brought on by feeling trapped, some worse than others, but never conducive to a restful night’s sleep.

So, to help me through my days I have some invaluable pieces of electrical equipment – the stair lift, an adjustable ‘carers’ bed, which means the whole thing rises up in the air as well as head & foot adjustment, my electric toilet seat riser, and MacNish riser units on armchairs in the sitting room and dining room.  The armchairs and the bed plug into battery back-up units so that I’m not stuck if there’s a power cut.  Haven’t been able to install similar back-up for the toiler riser as it is wired directly into the mains, so just have to hope we never have a power cut while I’m on the loo.  The stair lift has a pull cord that will mechanically get it down stairs if there’s no power, but not up.  And of course I have my ever cheerful and willing husband to help with day to day stuff, and my lovely cleaning lady comes once a week to give us a good muck-out.  On good days I can do a bit of ironing or empty the dishwasher (never both) and that is the sum total of my contribution towards housekeeping.

Because everything is so difficult, I live my life in a haze of exhaustion and in a permanent state of anxiety about the next thing I’ve got to do in case I fall.  To the able bodied, a fall is a nuisance and can result in painful and inconvenient injuries.  To us with IBM, a fall can be catastrophic.  We have no strength whatsoever to save ourselves, and go down like a ton of bricks.  Broken bones, torn ligaments, strains and sprains are painful and sap our strength and spirit.  Obviously we can’t get up unassisted, and as the disease progresses we become less and less able to help ourselves while people try to lift us.  Colin says it’s like trying to pick up jelly with a fork.  If we fall forwards, we may not have the strength to lift our heads off the floor to enable us to breathe.  If we fall backwards, we are almost certainly going to hit our heads on something.  Either scenario is potentially life threatening, and although we are sensible and wear pendant alarms to press in the event of a fall, there’s no guarantee that we’ll be able to do that if we fall with our weight pinning down our good arm and of course if we’re knocked unconscious we can’t summon help at all.  Even if we can summon help, it can be a long, painful wait for that help to arrive.  The fear of this happening is utterly paralysing, and the danger is something we are conscious of the whole time we are on our feet.  We don’t know when we’re going to fall, we don’t gracefully topple over or trip and stumble.  Without warning our muscles just give way, as if someone flicked a switch and turned them off, and we’re down before we can do anything about it.  Thinking positive does not stop this from happening.  Our worst fear is having to (gulp) go to hospital.  Hospitals don’t understand us, they don’t seem to have any way of dealing with people who can’t get in and out of bed without help, who can’t use normal toilets and can’t do the physio they think we should be doing.  We hear horror stories of IBM patients put in the bed furthest away from the toilet, with no walking aids and no nurses available to help them.  Their ingenious solution is to put us in adult nappies, which they then don’t have time to change resulting in infections, further loss of mobility and, worst of all, utter loss of dignity.  Even in the best of circumstances, injuries involving long periods of bed rest result in further loss of strength and mobility.  These (and other) what-if scenarios run through our minds whenever we have to summon up the strength and courage to attempt any manoeuvre.  So we don’t do any more that we absolutely have to, and the downward spiral of getting weaker and doing less goes on.

Add to that the grief over the loss of our former lives, and the loss of all the things we thought we would be doing in our retirement years, and factor in the impact this has on our family and friends – the weddings we can’t go to, the grandchildren we can’t look after, the new homes we can’t visit and admire – and you may arrive at the conclusion that our lives serve very little purpose other than to be a miserable nuisance to everyone around us.  I would absolutely agree with that.  But I know so many people with this same disease who lead really active and productive lives using power chairs or scooters, who go everywhere and do everything they want to do, recruiting whatever help they need along the way.  They see no obstacles, only challenges to be overcome, with each success giving them confidence to tackle the next project.  They see the dangers, but refuse to be restricted by them.  Inspiring?  Maybe…..

I saw no reason to go down the wheelchair route – I was trialling a new drug and it was working for me, albeit very slowly.  I had absolute faith that this drug was going to keep me on my feet and would delay the progression of weakness and disability perhaps for years.  It might have done – but the results weren’t good enough for the drug company to keep pouring money into it, and they withdrew it without notice.  All hope for the future I wanted vanished, and I realised that I had only two choices:  to spend the rest of my life physically and mentally unable to leave my house, or to accept my physical limitations, admit that I need a power chair and make the structural changes to my house that will enable me to use one.  The thought of having that much freedom, after years of being confined to base, is absolutely petrifying but other people seem to manage it so perhaps I can as well.  Funding for the power chair has been approved by Social Services, a wheelchair-friendly door is on order and plans are being drawn up for ramps front and rear.  None of this will happen overnight (thank goodness!) so I have a few weeks/months to get my head round the idea.  In the meantime, the daily grind goes on and the truth is that a power chair will do nothing to help with that, it will just give me a few more options for how and where I spend my days.  I can’t help but wonder how things will pan out in the future.  I suppose I’m still hoping for the miracle cure, or at the very least that we’ll have access to BYM338 or a similar drug that will slow the progress of the disease.  A future without that hope would be a pretty bleak place, not one that I would look forward to at all.

Author: stephhicks

The ups and downs of life with a rare muscle wasting disease, Inclusion Body Myositis, after the BYM338 (Bimagrumab) drug trial

13 thoughts on “Me again :)”

  1. Thanks for the post. It gives a really good look at what IBM is and does to those not familiar with it. Our paths, while similar, are different as well. Until Oct. 2015 I was able to get around the house with the aid of a cane. A nasty fall changed that to full time power chair. I also haven’t been able to sleep in a bed since then and sleep in an “all position” power recliner. I can still stand at the loo and shower using a transfer board to get onto a bench my son-in-law modified to fit my shower. I use the same transfer technique to get from the power chair to the recliner. My ability to grip with my hands is nearly zero and use special utensils for eating. Can’t hold a knife so someone has to cut my food for me. Living situation is also different. My wife and I share a 6 acre “ranch” in the country with our daughter and her family. They live in the main house (built in 1910) and we live in an attached apartment that we had built to ADA specs in 2008. We knew the losses were coming so prepared in advance for them. When I got the power chair, we also bought a converted Toyota van that has a side loading amp and power seats that allow me to transfer from the chair to the drivers seat. It is also equipped with full hand controls. Since I require a power lift for toileting, overnight travel is no longer possible but day trips to the beach are still in the picture. My hobbies, old Brit cars and stained glass are now only fond memories and have been replaced with amateur radio. My ability to type is becoming more difficult (was 65 wpm now about 10) and I cant hold a pen or pencil to write. The good news? My mind is still good but, sadly, trapped in a slowly weakening body. Aging is not for the feint of heart and IBM only makes it more frustrating. Hang in there Steph and know you are not alone. An occasional post would be great. Best to you and Colin.
    Gary

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Gary, great comment. You illustrate so clearly the impact this disease has on every aspect of our lives. You have a great attitude to all these difficulties, and the arrangements you have in place must make you feel safe and supported even though things are far from ideal. All we can do is adapt to each change in our circumstances and hope that help will come in the shape of new medical advances or perhaps a modern-day miracle! You mention an interest in old Brit cars – Colin is renovating a 1966 Ford Zodiac in his spare time. The project has been underway since 2012 with little progress. I tease him by singing the old Johnny Cash song ‘One Piece at a Time’. Best wishes to you

      Steph

      Like

  2. Steph, once again, you have said it all so well. I only wish it were like your other posts, positive and giving us all hope. I can only imagine how devastated you were to learn the trial would be discontinued, with not much notice, I believe. So disappointing for all of us and mostly for those in the trial that did feel they were being helped. I am still hoping that miracle will happen. There have been some posts where people have said they have heard we still might have access to it. I don’t know where they are getting their information, but some of it is hopeful. So try to keep your chin up. Maybe that miracle will happen yet! In Canada, we have not had any clinical trials, so we have to piggy-back on U.S. and G.B., which I will do if I get the chance. Smile! Hopefully, your power chair will get you out and about. I can still get around with my rollator, on flat surfaces. I went to visit at a cottage on the weekend and got invited to another cottage for dinner. First thing I saw was a big set of steps at the front and no other entrance. I held on the railing and my son in law pushed my butt up each step. Everyone else just walked up those steps like there weren’t even there! Hard to even think that ten years ago I could have done that as well as long as there was a railing.
    Keep posting Steph and let us know how you make out with your power chair. Something positive will come out of all of this, I am sure. Wishing you all the best.
    Bonnie

    Like

    1. I think you were very brave tackling these cottage steps. I would have spent the whole visit worrying about how to get down them again, but I’m a terrible worrier. 10 years ago nothing phased me – how things change. I think you’re right and we will eventually have access to Bym338. They simply couldn’t justify the cost of continuing with the trial, but they do acknowledge that it did work for us to some degree. I was heartbroken when they cancelled it, but I think the placebo group had the worst deal. They put probably more effort into it than anyone else and got absolutely no benefit. So unfair.

      Like

  3. Hi, I am also an IBMer and have been using my power chair for the last three years. Wow, your post sure hit the nail on the head. I can tell you I felt very reluctant to get the power chair but once equipped I did feel allot more mobile. Although it does come with the risk of getting stuck and or falling out. It was nice to get out of the house independently for some fresh air. I have quietly been following your blog and one other trying to gather if this trial had promise. I have to admit some tears flowed once I saw it was discontinued. I have applied for more then one trial and had never been accepted. I chose to trust in Gods plan for me and struggle everyday to ascertain what I am to learn from this humbling experience. I have enjoyed your posts and do hope you keep them up. I pray and wait everyday for a new trial or breakthrough that may help us all. God Bless.

    Like

    1. Hi Greg, great to hear from you. I’m glad I took part in this trial but I wouldn’t do another one – it was difficult to cope with the way we were all just abandoned when they decided not to continue. To them, trial volunteers are just a means of getting their drug to market, and are treated no better than any other scientific instrument when no longer needed. Anyway, for now we’ll all struggle on, but I don’t believe this is God’s plan for any of us. He meant for us all to live in perfect health on a paradise Earth, and He’s promised to restore those conditions for us one day. Our imperfect bodies just get sick. I feel pretty sure a kind and loving God wouldn’t inflict disease and pain on His creations on purpose. Just my take on things 🙂 In the meantime, we’ll just have to struggle on and make the best of things.

      Like

  4. I’m in a power chair and was advised by the city Police Department to not put a ramp in the front, but back only. The reason is that it simply advertises that there is a disabled person living there and could result in unwanted visitors. My power chair has helped me get out far more than before, so good luck with it. Marilyn B

    Like

    1. Thank you, that is really good advice. Unfortunately there is no access around the side of our house so we haven’t got any option other than ramps front and rear. Thinking about a wheelchair lift at the front though, as a ramp is going to take up so much space. It’s so expensive being disabled!

      Like

  5. Hi Steph, you have pinned your heart to your sleeve with this post. The loss of what we thought we would (should) be doing at this stage in our life? It was only two years ago we were on one of our USA trips, Virgina & down through North & South Carolina seeing lovely places and meeting lovely people. Now I’m sitting looking out worrying is it a ramp, a chairlift or a wheelchair! I am sure there’s an answer to this disease and it will be found – it’s just when? I am also sure you will get the ramp sorted and be able to get out a bit easier, whatever else don’t stop your post – thank you. Wighton

    Like

    1. Thanks Wighton, I really wanted to ‘tell it like it is’. I think I will keep adding to this blog – IBM can be a very isolating condition, and having this platform to pour it all out is therapeutic for me, and might help others who stumble across it to feel less alone. I absolutely agree with you that there is a cure out there just waiting to be discovered. In the meantime I suppose we just have to rise to all the challenges it sets us.

      Like

  6. Hi Steph,
    I’m so pleased that you posted after the horrible sad news telling all that your, and everyone else’s trial had ended. I started to comment on the trial end but found it difficult to say how sorry I was. I’m sorry for me, but so much more so for you and the others who saw improvement with the infusions, and now you go through it all over again. As you said, also, the placebo group had the worst deal and my heart aches for them.

    I am using your very honest, very painful post to make friends and family aware of how devastating this disease is. I’ve had problems explaining the difficulties and impossibilities and I know that some are thinking that I should try just a little harder. My daughter says she has the same difficulty making people understand. I will be moving to their city to live with her and her husband. I’ll have a small bed/sitting room with bath. She said that no one understands, for example, the impossibility of getting up when I fall. I read her Colin’s description that picking you up after a fall was like trying to pick up jelly with a fork. She said that was the perfect description and one that she would use.

    I understand perfectly the stair thing. Two years ago I was with family and it was necessary for me to go up five steps. I was surrounded by three strong men and three women but I was still terrified. I tried to explain that I knew that they would keep me safe, but the fear is there and when I fall I am alone. Last year I was in Chicago to attend my granddaughter’s wedding. She wanted me to see her apartment but it was up eight steps to the porch. My family again said they would surround me and get me to the top, but a said no. The stairway was wide and the porch large. Instead, I asked them to help me sit down on the second step. I had a man on either side of me, and as they lifted me to the next step, my daughter and granddaughter helped me move my legs to the next step and we moved slowly and easily. My niece folded my wheel chair and carried it up to the porch. When we reached the top, the guys helped me slide away from the steps, turned me, then lifted me to a standing position. My chair was placed behind me and I was lowered carefully and I wasn’t stressed at all. Unfortunately, I didn’t go down the same way. I decided I could stand, hold on to the railing and with help, go down backwards. It worked but was difficult and I was stressed and my muscles hurt. The way up would have worked as well going down.

    I still use a rollator and a manual wheelchair if I need to get out. I have just about reached the point where I have others do my shopping and almost never get out. I hope I’m able to maintain what little walking strength I have until I’m living with my daughter and her husband. Then I’ll make the necessary purchases; a power wheel chair, a power bed, a van for transport and anything else necessary. I have a day bed that is high enough to get in and out of without assistance, and has a sturdy rail on three sides to help me turn. I live alone but I have an aide who visits and does light housework, takes me shopping or goes for me and helps me shower. I look forward to her visits. She makes my life easier because I didn’t do much before I hired her, but I worried about what needed to be done. It takes her an hour to do what would take me two days to do.

    Anyway, Steph, my heart is with you, and like you, I will keep on hoping. Without hope what have we? I did read that Novartis is going to begin testing BYM338 for sarcopenia and that if it is approved for that disease it can be used by physicians to possibly treat IBM. So, I’ll hang on as long as I can. Again, thank you, Steph, good luck with the new power chair and keep posting.

    Margaret

    Like

    1. Hi Margaret,

      Thank you for your lovely comment. It really helps me to know that I’m not alone with my struggles, and hearing about other peoples’ triumphs is really encouraging. Your visit to your granddaughter’s apartment was a huge triumph, and it was incredibly brave (and trusting) of you to even attempt it. I have two children and both currently live in homes accessed only by stairs so I haven’t been able to visit either of them – but in all honesty, I probably wouldn’t be able to visit them wherever they lived as access/seating/toilet facilities always pose problems. It makes me sad, but life with IBM brings many losses. I agree with you that when BYM338 finally gets licenced for any condition, our physicians will be able to prescribe it for us ‘off label’. And of course, research continues. I feel positive that the future holds better things for us 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment