BYM338 on tour

 

 

WP_20160509_13_26_21_ProA late visit to hospital this month, as I was poorly with an infection for a week followed by a week being even poorlier with a reaction to the antibiotics.  Anyway, finally got there on Friday last week.  Still not much to report – the day went much as usual, with the alarm going off at 5am, and we set off just before 6 o’clock.  Friday traffic seemed much better than Monday’s, so it was an easy journey and we arrived at about 8.30 am.  Since I’ve been feeling so ill, I agreed to Colin wheeling me into the hospital in my wheelchair, which would be fine if only I could get out of the blooming thing.   Sadly, even with the electric riser cushion I wasn’t able to do it so poor Colin not only had to lift me out of the car, but out of the wheelchair too.

I had an early appointment with our new physio lady.  She seems very nice and down-to-earth, admitted she doesn’t know much about IBM yet but looks forward to learning.  I’ve been having a lot of problems with an immobile shoulder, the result of some old injuries, and she gave me some different exercises to help with that.  She also encouraged me to get back to the regular exercise schedule as soon as possible, as obviously that had all gone out of the window while I was feeling ill.  After she had gone, there was an ECG and a couple of questionnaires to complete and then we just had to wait for the drug to arrive. 

The trial doctor popped in to do the questionnaires, and we talked about when Novartis were likely to decide when/if the trial was going ‘open label’.  Her feeling was that the grip and pinch test results, along with the DXA scan data, were likely to show enough improvement for Novartis to be able to proceed with the trial, although it may prolong things if they decide to investigate higher dosages or different timescales.  We all agree that a 6 minute walking test for IBM patients is pretty useless – we’re not natural walkers any more, and are more likely to walk slowly and safely than rush about and risk a fall.  The difficulty is that the people who devise drug trials, although undoubtedly very clever and highly qualified, aren’t medical people – they are scientists.  They have very little contact with real-life patients, and don’t always take all the factors into account in the way that clinical staff – doctors and nurses – would.  I think the premise of this trial, if it was simply intended to make us walk faster, was flawed from the outset.  Anyway, there are many things that Novartis could decide to do at this stage, and there will be a meeting in Switzerland in July to discuss the options.  One very real possibility is that the FDA will say that the results are too insignificant for the project to continue, but given that there is nothing else available for us at present, and any improvement is better than none, I hope they won’t take that view. 

Colin was outside when he saw a courier arrive with a drug box at around 1.15pm.  He thought it might be for me, but he was disappointed when the courier headed off to another part of the hospital.  We carried on waiting…..  Around 2 o’clock, the same courier arrived in our department.  He had been on a complete tour of the hospital looking for the right place to deliver his package.  Pity it never occurred to him to ask at the reception desk.  Anyway, I already had the cannula in ready, so it didn’t take long to get the drug hooked up followed by the glucose flush through, and we were away by about 3 o’clock.  I decided that I’d sat down enough, and walked to the car.  I felt that I handled the slopes better than usual – they usually hurt my knee and slow me down considerably, but Colin said I was quicker than normal.  Possibly the only benefit of spending nearly 2 weeks in bed feeling like death!

We got home just before 6 o’clock – traffic was fairly heavy, and Colin needed to stop off at Oxford Services to stretch his legs.  It’s a lot of driving for him, and central London is so busy and difficult to get through that I know that I wouldn’t even attempt it myself – I’m so timid that I’d still be there now, waving people out in front of me and hesitating at junctions…..  I’m grateful that he puts himself through this for me every month, and hope that it will all be worth it in the end.  As we often say, I might not be much better than I was when we started the trial, but I’m no worse and that, when you have a progressive disease, is a very good thing.

Author: stephhicks

The ups and downs of life with a rare muscle wasting disease, Inclusion Body Myositis, after the BYM338 (Bimagrumab) drug trial

15 thoughts on “BYM338 on tour”

  1. Sorry you have been unwell, its enough coping with IBM without other complications… Love your positivity, it helps both you and those around you cope too I always think.

    Glad to see BTM338 not dead in the water yet, lets hope!

    best wishes,

    Tim

    Like

    1. Thank you Tim, I must admit there were a few days when any positivity completely deserted me! Happy to say that normal cheerfulness has now been resumed 🙂

      Like

  2. That’s a very good point you make Steph, that you are no worse than when you started the trial. When I look at how I have deteriorated in the same time, I think the drug has stopped you doing that. How much longer will you be having it for?

    Like

    1. It entirely depends on what Novartis decide next month. The original plan was that the trial would proceed smoothly to ‘open label’ and we would continue with our monthly treatments until the drug was licensed and we could get it on the NHS. Who knows what will happen now?

      Like

  3. Sorry to hear that Steph. Hopefully, you can now get back to exercising and gain some back of what you lost.

    Like

  4. Hi Steph, sorry you have not been feeling well, you could do without that as well as everything else. Once again you make really good points particularly about not getting worse. I suppose we are all in the same boat holding breath waiting on Novartis. A bit like Val I have deteriorated over last few months, a nasty fall seems to have knocked me for six. Thanks again for your update. Best wishes Wighton

    Like

    1. Hi Wighton, I was really sorry to hear about your fall and that you decided to cancel your holiday. I hope you are feeling more on top of things again. On the subject of falls, one of the trial objectives was ‘less falls’ and I hope I’m not tempting fate here by saying that I’ve only fallen once since the trial started, and that was towards the end of the 3 months break in treatment over the winter. I would say that counts as a success! Still keeping my fingers crossed (because I can, now) that Novartis go ahead and apply for approval.

      Like

      1. Hi again Steph, really impressed about crossed fingers! Reading your comments and experience of falls …….. I wonder if I could ask you a question? When I last fell it was my left leg that just gave way without warning and muscles don’t seem to be getting back to where they were. Have you experienced this? Just over a week since fall – maybe I’m expecting too quickly. Sorry to ask you this. Best wishes, Wighton

        Like

      2. You’re describing a classic IBM fall. What happens is that some muscles get too weak to do their job but other muscles take over so you don’t notice any increasing weakness. Eventually, those muscles themselves get weaker and one day just can’t handle the task, and down we go. After a while you’ll probably find that a different muscle takes over and you’ll be fairly stable again, at least for a while. Eventually of course we run out of these back up muscles and falls become far too frequent. If you’re confident that you haven’t injured anything, and of course ligament/tendon injuries don’t show up on X-rays, I’m a big fan of Velcro knee supports. I wear one on my right knee all the time, and it seems to give me just a split second to steady myself if the knee starts to give way. Best wishes for a full recovery.

        Like

  5. Hi again Steph and thanks for positive reply, not quite sure where I am on the “other muscle” intervention, hopefully I will get a bit of recovery. I bought Velcro knee support a few weeks ago and to be honest haven’t used as much as I should, will now get it used!! You will be aware as well as BYM338 the situation with Aricloclomol but I spotted this (almost at foot of page) – fairly recent and mentions Glaxo SK having drug in phase 111 although it was perhaps originally intended for Lupus. There is plenty happening just wish they would all get a move on!

    Best wishes, Wighton

    http://www.epvantage.com/Universal/View.aspx?type=Story&id=626647&isEPVantage=yes&notSub=false

    Like

  6. Appreciate your blog so much. BYM338 has been on my mind the last few weeks. The 6 minute walk test seems to be the major importance of how the drug is working, yet seems unrealistic for a muscle wasting disease that destroys the quadriceps. Take
    care and look forward to your July blog.

    Like

    1. Thanks Valerie. I heard from one of the trial participants in the USA that they were told yesterday that the trial has been ‘suspended’ and I’m expecting to hear something officially from the hospital staff today. Disappointing, but not entirely unexpected. I’ll post an update as soon as I have more information.

      Like

  7. Steph,
    You have probably heard that the trial for bym338 has been discontinued as of this morning (^/29/16). Not the news any of us wanted to hear. For now we just wait and hope for another answer.
    Gary

    Like

    1. Hi Gary, yes I heard this morning. I suppose we were all expecting it but it is still a shock. The trial doctor asked me not to say anything publicly until he had had chance to speak to each of the trial patients personally, which I thought was fair enough. Research goes on though, we must remain hopeful that an effective treatment will be found.

      Like

Leave a comment